Quick Update on the Hipster

May 1, 2012 § 6 Comments

I’m writing this outside the LSU Parking Safety Building (wouldn’t you hate to be a parking safety officer? Of all jobs in transportation, that seems one of the least exciting), where in fifteen minutes I’ll be appealing a ticket I got cause I parked in a handicapped space before I had my medical tag. I know. It’s bad. I’m a terrible person.

20120501-165001.jpg

These guys have become my new best frenemies. Glad to have them so I don’t have to limp around but boy, they are exhausting. If you, like me, have ever thought crutches seemed kind of glamorous (am I alone in this?), let me just tell you right now…they’re not. Bright side: I get a major upper-body workout using them, which is handy since otherwise I’ve just been doing a lot of sitting lately.

The doc yesterday told me my X-rays were normal, which I expected, and referred me to the orthopedist. I see him Friday. The day before, I’m getting a bone scan and the story behind that is pretty amazing, but that’ll have to wait for another post.

I’ve got to crutch in to plead my case to the parking people.

Thanks so much for your prayers!

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to Quick Update on the Hipster

  • auntlez says:

    still praying! i felt the same way about crutches when i got bit by that copperhead a couple of years ago. i was on them a month and only one week into it i no longer felt they were glamourous in the least! sore underarms and messed up healthy foot and ankle later…it was a drag. i also parked in the dreaded hz but got no tickets which is crazy. hope they take pitty on your case. glad about the xrays! hang in there.

    • Rebekah says:

      Man, it is so true! I keep worrying I’m going to injure my OTHER side from all this crutchin’. Miss you…love you…thanks for being you and being there…xoxo

  • cottercrunch says:

    embrace the handicap zone, been there! praying friend.

  • Pam Hudgeons says:

    Love you sweet girl. Praying for you!

  • David says:

    Really hoping and praying that you get some good news on Friday. If you think crutches suck with a car (which they do), I don’t recommend trying them on the subway.

  • Hang in there girl. Bones heal, and when they do they fuse together stronger then they were before. It’s hard to understand the why behind the injury, but you are so much more then just a runner so embrace that!

    Sending healing wishes šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quick Update on the Hipster at bekah running.

meta