What I Do When I Can’t Run

April 23, 2012 § 10 Comments

I’m currently perched on a racquetball I found on my officemate’s desk (don’t tell him).  All this sitting the past week has left me with a sore bum and maybe a touch of sciatica or something.  Since I can’t run, and can’t really cross-train, I’ve been spending way too much time researching injury prevention, reading Runner’s World forums, finding new (to me) running blogs, planning future races, looking up dream races, and thinking about how I’m going to ramp back up in training without reinjuring myself.

Also: watching Prison Break.  Michael Scofield, folks.

I’ve decided I really want to get into trail running, possibly starting to run a couple of times a week with a trail running group like this one and eventually training for an ultra (maybe Bandera?).  I have always loved hiking and being in the wilderness, so I think trail running could be the perfect combo for me.  Plus I hear it helps with injury prevention.

Also on my mind has been how to BQ again (qualify for Boston 2013).  I have to do it, if I’m going to, by September 25.  Yikes.  My dad and I have talked about Missoula on July 8.  It looks pretty sweet.  Not sure I’ll be ready.  I’m also planning to do Marine Corps on October 28, which should be a blast and a half.

In the meantime, I literally am just forcing myself to rest.  A lot.  I have my second appointment with Ian tomorrow, and I’m hoping he’s going to show me some exercises and strengthening techniques that will get me off the couch and into more active recovery.  My aunt Lez has also been coaching me about resting and listening to my body and she seems to think I’ll be up and at it again next week.

I sure hope so.  Resting is exhausting.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 10 Responses to What I Do When I Can’t Run

  • five8ts says:

    Sounds like you’re on the right track (not a pun), i.e., making progress. At the moment, Missoula may be too soon; and there should be other flat courses later in the season, not to mention hilly SF again. Is forced rest an oxymoron? Just curious bc it’s the main type I practice too. 🙂

    • Rebekah says:

      I agree, Dad. Wonder if we should just both try to BQ at MCM and shoot for 2014?

      • five8ts says:

        Keeping BQ 2014 as a workable option, according to how things progress, seems wise and smart. I agree with subthree about loving the run and building the base, which compliments what you say about it all being a journey anyway.

  • subthree says:

    You have to listen to your body. If you don’t, it will shout at you, every time. July might be a little early for another marathon, particularly if you’re feeling injured. But that’s just my view. You’ll know better than me. Take a bit of time and recover though. Enjoy the downtime, Run easy and love the run for what it is. If you need to feel competitive about it, tell yourself you’re building base.

    • Rebekah says:

      Charles, I think this is wisdom. I had a talk with my sister earlier and I’m wondering if Boston 2014 may be more realistic for me. Are you going to gun for ’13?

      • subthree says:

        2013 might not be out entirely for you; if you’re able to resume training again in June, you’d probably be in shape for a September marathon. But you have to play it by ear. You’ll know through May how you’re feeling and recovering. You always have to listen to your body and go with your gut.

        Myself, I’m not sure. I’m a little appalled at how I feel after nine weeks off and it’s the second time in two years I’ve had to start back after a disruption in my training. The marathon still nags at me. I believe I haven’t yet reached my potential, but I’m starting to experience a bit of a love-hate relationship with it. Ha.

  • cottercrunch says:

    hope that mind heals too. Injuries can be daunting, but your plan sounds great!

  • David says:

    Thanks for the plug! This is a great blog you have here. Taking time off after an injury can be tougher than the most grueling training run but it’s every bit as important (of course, I realize it’s a lot easier for me to type that than it is for you to have to do it). Hopefully your recovery is a speedy one. Never underestimate the power of a little extra prayer.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I Do When I Can’t Run at bekah running.

meta

