New jeans, Bart Yasso, and how to rest.

April 3, 2012 § 2 Comments

I’m sick.  Cough, runny nose, headache, fatigue, the whole shebang.  But I just got in from America’s Thrift Store.  I dragged myself all the way over to North Baton Rouge in a semi-flu-ish state because I had an itch that needed to be scratched.  It’s an itch all girls get, some more than others, and it can be scratched in a variety of ways.

The itch is for new clothes.

The scratching, in my case, is done on the cheap.

I got those jeans you see in the picture above, the ones that fit me perfectly and are from Banana Republic and are even in a wash I like (I have a weird thing about washes), for $3.88.  No jokes.

You know what’s even crazier, now that I think about it?  I found some super cute Banana shorts that looked brand new for $4.88 and I passed them up.  Too much to pay.  Man, I can be dumb sometimes.

Blame it on the cold.

Also to be blamed on the cold is that I missed one of my last key workouts today before the marathon in less than two weeks.  Not cool.  I’m planning to go to bed tonight super early (I can already hear the snarky comments from people who know how early I usually go to bed anyway) so that hopefully I will wake up in the morning perky and ready to roll.

I tweeted Bart Yasso earlier with a question about Yasso 800s.  This is a workout he invented that is a surprisingly good predictor of your marathon time.  If you do 10×800 w/ 400m recovery, your average 800m split time (in minutes and seconds) is approximately your marathon finish time (in hours and minutes).  He tweeted back!  Made my day.

So that’s my goal.  Be able to do that workout tomorrow or the next day.

In the meantime, today I

  • spent extra time listening to God this morning instead of running (big decisions in my life these days that I’m really trying to tune into Him about!)
  • went to econometrics class and tried to pretend I was interested in multiple regression
  • worked on some freelance projects
  • emailed furiously with several people
  • took a timed writing test
  • listened to two Catalyst podcasts, one with Seth Godin about the power of art and creativity in the workplace and another with Jim Collins about his new book Great by Choice.  I loved both, but especially resonated with what Jim Collins said about the three pillars of great leadership: fanatical discipline, empirical creativity, and productive paranoia.  They reminded me of the three pillars (according to me, anyway) of great running:
    • unwavering consistency
    • building on what you’ve learned so you can run by feel
    • rest, recovery, and injury prevention

I haven’t read Jim Collins’ new book, but I plan to.  I read his arguably most famous book, Good to Great, when I was 17 and it’s stuck with me ever since.

 

Anyone can be great.  It’s a learned behavior.  You just have to know how and implement it.

 

So there you have it.  Go be great.

§ 2 Responses to New jeans, Bart Yasso, and how to rest.

  • auntlez says:

    you great already! and i mean that with all my heart…and not cause you’re helping me so much. i’ve always though you were exceptional in a thousand ways especially Spiritually. also you have always been kind and that’s worth gold. the jeans are awesome, get well!

  • subthree says:

    Holy smokes! I think you did about a million more things than me today – and got Bart Yasso to speak directly to you. I met him, very briefly, at the Boston Marathon in 2009. He was at the expo and I was just one of the 25,000 faces blurring before him. I’m sure he remembers me very well. Ha.

    Yasso is awesome though. He was the very second person to like me when I joined Twitter. And he’s so incredibly active in the running community – a real legend.

    At this stage don’t worry about missing a work-out. You’re so close to Boston that it won’t matter. Seriously, two weeks before, it’s better to rest, if you’re not 100 per cent, than try and push hard.

    Now, I have to try and go and do a bazillion things so I don’t feel like I squandered my day after having read your post.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New jeans, Bart Yasso, and how to rest. at bekah running.

meta

