Easiest Way Ever to Prevent Injury {Gear Review}

April 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

these are the ones i have.

Now that I’m in the taper for Boston, I’m trying to wear my compression socks more often.  Which is backwards if you think about it: I should have been wearing them more when I was pounding my body harder.

Regardless.

I wear them more now.  So I thought it would be apropos to write a review of the ones I have.

What they are: Mine are made by PRO and are called the “Marathon,” which I kind of like. They’re full-length, all the way up to my knees, and have some extra stuff (finer ribbing, etc.) going on in the foot.

When I wear them: I wear them after hard runs, on rest days (when I remember), and to bed at night.  The only problem with sleeping in them is that about 3:00am I wake up in a panic and feel like my calf is about to pop off at the knee.  I have to frantically peel off the socks to keep my legs in one piece keep from hyperventilating.  Still, I wake up on those mornings inevitably feeling like my legs are more recovered and springier than on mornings when I don’t wear them.

What they feel like: They feel comfortably snug.  A little restrictive around the knee/hamstring area, but they make my legs feel more together, if that makes sense, like I’ve added extra muscles to my muscles.  Never a bad thing.

Why I wear them: There has been a lot of coverage of this topic over the last couple of years, as well as some pretty decent research, but I personally wear compression socks because I want to do whatever I can to prevent injury.  This is one measurable step toward taking care of my body that’s super easy.  I can feel them improving my circulation and diminishing my soreness.  Simply put, I wear them because they feel good.

 

Not to mention they’re pretty dang attractive.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Easiest Way Ever to Prevent Injury {Gear Review} at bekah running.

meta

