Running and Dating: A Comparison.

March 30, 2012 § 2 Comments

Today, I was thinking about dating.

I had two conversations this week with two incredible friends who are both absolutely gorgeous (not just saying that…they really are above-average, physically beautiful), witty, well-traveled, hilarious, and kind.  And they’re both single.

In the past year, they’ve each been really interested in guys who have both dropped the ball.  Just…dropped it.  There was some interest, there was some flirting, and then there was nothing.

It frustrates me to no end, this trend of passivity among Christian guys.  And then I hear guys wishing they had a wife! Um, hello, folks, to get a wife, you have to get a girlfriend.  To get a girlfriend, you have to ask a girl out.

I don’t have an answer to this problem.  But it got me to thinking about running.  I’ve been wondering a lot lately what my time will be in Boston.  Will I PR?  Will I tank?  What will the weather be like?  Will I be able to pull out the splits I want to?  Will I fuel correctly?  I know what I want to happen.

The thing is, it’s not magic.  A PR doesn’t just happen.  One of my favorite running one-liners is:

To run fast, you have to run fast.

I’m not just going to wake up on April 16 and go, “Hey, I want to run a marathon today in under 3 hours and 20 minutes!  Let’s go!”

No, sir.

I’ve taken the steps (literally) day after day to get here.  When I registered for Boston back in September, I essentially made myself a promise that I was going to do this thing and do it well.  Like asking a girl out (not that I’ll ever know the particular hardships of that task), it hasn’t always been fun or easy.  But it’s been necessary to get me where I want to go.

It’s about choices.  It’s about taking action–or, actually, taking a bunch of little actions over and over. It’s about the journey.

 

*Disclaimer: extreme randomness of thought processes and irrational similes are the responsibility of a stressful week and the author of this blog does not take responsibility for the opinions found herein.

§ 2 Responses to Running and Dating: A Comparison.

  • aunt lez says:

    i agree completely!! what’s the deal with these 20 to 30 year old guys? seemingly no interest in marriage, commitment or kids! it’s such a shift in the culture. i am so proud of your dedication to getting ready for the Boston and realizing your goals and dream! it will work out super and you know it. the Lord is your shade on your right hand girl!

    • Rebekah says:

      Aunt Lez, thanks for being my cheerleader! I wish I could fly you up to hang out in Boston and go to the marathon. Hey, check out your made-up mind dashboard again. I think you’re good to go on everything!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Running and Dating: A Comparison. at bekah running.

meta

