Things I Love About Running: Podcast Edition.

March 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

So I really love podcasts.  And I have to say, sometimes the podcast I know I’m about to listen to plays a part in is the reason I get out the door in the morning.

My podcast taste has evolved over time.  I used to ONLY listen to American Public Media’s The Splendid Table, “a show for people who love to eat,” and I felt like I was best buds with the host(ess), Lynne Rossetto Kasper. Gosh, I love her.  You will love her.  Go right now and download the podcast.

But I got a little tired of drooling all over my running shoes and so I went on the hunt for some other ones.  Now, I listen to a lot of sermons, and before you go to sleep on me, just try these out.  I’m serious–they’re better than music for stirring me up, encouraging me, and just leaving me feeling like I have truly met with God on my run.

I also listen to some NPR shows and a handful of other podcasts, but some just aren’t long enough.  If I’ve forgotten to make myself a playlist, I hate having to take out my iPod and switch to a different podcast or turn on music (I know, I know…major first-world problem).

Without further adieu, and in no particular order, here are my faves:

  • Bethel Church: Hey, running sidenote! This is where Olympian marathoner (and my hero) Ryan Hall and his track star  wife Sara go to church.  I listened to this today, a sermon called “Developing Heart Strength.”  I didn’t want to turn it off when I got home.  It was so encouraging–all about dreaming in God, based on Proverbs 13:12, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.”
  • This American Life: This is a Public Radio International show that tells stories around a theme.  The first one I ever listened to was about breakups. Hilarious!  I think my all-time favorite, though, was about middle school.  Come to think of it, I need to re-listen to that one.
  • Joy the Baker Podcast: Do you know her? If you read her blog, you know who she is.  If you listen to her podcast, you feel like you are her best friend. If you don’t have a running partner, and you wish you did so you could chit chat the whole time, get this podcast now.
  • International House of Prayer-Northwest: I wish Gary Weins, the leader of IHOP-NW, knew what an impact he has had on my life during the last year of listening to these podcasts.  God has spoken to me so many times through him.  He just finished a (super awesome) series on Sermon on the Mount and is into a new one on the life of David.  I check this podcast obsessively for new episodes.
  • RadioLab: How does one describe RadioLab?  It’s another public radio deal.  They tell stories.  They make jokes.  They explore ideas, science, phenomena, etc.  I wish they were longer and more frequently updated.  That’s all.  It’s a great listen.
  • International House of Prayer-Atlanta: Billy Humphrey in Atlanta is a fireball. Love him.  His series on Revelation will knock your (technical) socks off.  I hope no one from there is reading this, but honestly, I don’t love the other speakers besides Billy on this podcast.  I only download sermons if they’re by Billy. 🙂 {Note: Yes, I’ve got a thing with IHOP.  I lived at the Kansas City one for 6 months, but it doesn’t really have a podcast (that I can figure out for iTunes, anyway).}
  • Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me: I listened to one of these during my marathon last July and laughed out loud on the course.  It’s basically a quiz show about current events that is hilarious…though sometimes really lame, also.  But I like it.  It keeps me going.

I have several others that are really great, but these are the ones in the main rotation.

What are your favorite podcasts?  Leave me some comment love!

§ One Response to Things I Love About Running: Podcast Edition.

  • Jamie says:

    I love This American Life and Wait Wait. I heard the middle school podcast and adored it! I will have to check out your other faves, they sound interesting (if not for runs, at least for life!). I listen to a lot of the Quick and Dirty tips podcasts, but you’d need a lot of them for long runs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I Love About Running: Podcast Edition. at bekah running.

meta

