re-entry to blogging.

August 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

What do graduate school, running, NPR, farming, and Jesus have in common?

If I knew, blogging would be so much easier, because then I would have an actual theme for my blog.  I should narrow it down–have a blog focused on my musings in prayer or my running training or highlights from the latest podcast or Fresh Air segment I’ve heard.  I’m not far enough into grad school and I don’t know enough about farming, really, to focus a blog entirely on either of those things.  So instead, I’ll glom all of them together into one, possibly taking a day a week (best case scenario, in which i am disciplined enough to blog that often) to focus on one of these things.  Today, an amuse bouche–a taste of what is to come:

  • Ephesians 3:14-21 is intense.  This morning, I was especially struck that God says He’s able to do far more than all we ask or think in direct proportion to the power at work inside of us.  It makes me want to ask for more power inside, or for the ability to make more room for that power.
  • I missed quite a few of my favorite programs this week on NPR because I was moving, restarting work, trying to find my car keys, etc.  But I did listen to July 29 The Splendid Table podcast this morning–one of my favorites–and loved the segment on brewing your own beer.  Lynn Rossetto Kasper’s guest, William Bostwick, coauthor of Beer Craft: A Simple Guide to Making Great Beer, made it sound so doable.  It’s something I’ve been wanting to try for awhile and my cousin, Kate Powell, in Houston, has started experimenting with microbrewery and I believe may even be selling some on top at a local venue!
  • Almost two weeks ago, I ran my first marathon and finished in 3:24:41 (the number is engrained into the heads of everyone who knows me, I think).  I had a blast and can’t wait to do it again.  I’ve been taking it easy with running, wanting to focus on other things right now, but am looking forward to running in cooler weather.  If it ever comes.
§ 2 Responses to re-entry to blogging.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading re-entry to blogging. at bekah running.

meta

