tobymac, technical devices, and lowfat granola.

August 28, 2008 § 1 Comment

I heard a song on the radio the other day that sent chills all along my arms.  I know that’s corny and makes me sound like a mom in a minivan who relies on the radio for her spiritual kicks, but this song is really good, I’m telling you what.  

It was so good that I wanted to buy it to listen to while i run.  And I never buy music.  [If more visions of minivan moms are coming into your head, push them away and keep reading.]  So I bought it today.  And wouldn’t you know that today would be the day that my trusty iPod mini–that I first bonded with on the way to Big Bend on a Christmas trip long, long ago–let me down and would no longer scroll.  I clicked it on to my new song (I think it’s called “Lose My Soul”…but I’m having another mom moment of forgetfulness) and it wouldn’t budge from there.  So I listened to the song three times.  Which tells you how long my run was (not very).  In my defense, the song is over six minutes long.  I highly recommend it.

 

In another train of thought later, I started realizing that as much as I love people and love talking to them, I don’t actually like being attached to a cell phone.  I wish I could dump it into the toilet.  I’m basically chained to the thing, and am expected by random people I shop alongside at grocery stores to answer it.  If you leave me a message on it, it says something negative about my character if I don’t call you back.  

 

The reason I’m even telling you this is because I’m up way past the time I should be in beddie-bye, waiting on some granola that I made to finish cooking.  I made it to take somewhere, but I made it the way I like it, because I figure I’ll be the main one eating it.  

So obviously, I wanted to make it as healthy as I could.  The only problem with that is that then it doesn’t taste as good as IT could.  So I tweaked…and cajoled…and added some oil about 20 minutes ago when the oats were looking pretty thirsty.  

What…you want the recipe?  Really?

Okay, here it is.

 

Lowish Fat Spiced Orange & Cranberry Granola (but don’t blame me if you eat too much and gain three pounds)

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1/2 cup chopped almonds, toasted
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
2/3 cup orange juice concentrate
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup dried cranberries
[I also had every intention of adding 1/2 cup of the most delicious golden raisins know to man…but I ate them all.]

Preheat oven to 300.  Combine first five ingredients in a 9×13 baking dish, then mix juice concentrate and vanilla, and pour over the dry mixture.  Stick in the oven for 40 minutes, stirring from the bottom every 10-15 minutes.  After about 30 minutes, take it out and add some maple syrup and oil if you think it looks dry.  That’s what I did.  I guess you could do that first, too, before it got dry-looking.  At the end of the forty minutes, add in the cranberries, and put it back in for 10-15 minutes.  Stir and enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to tobymac, technical devices, and lowfat granola.

  • kristine says:

    i haven’t been around you in a long time yet even i know you do not like the phone. did you really just figure that out about yourself?

    there you go with the food pictures again. you planned this blog while preheating the oven, didn’t you? =]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading tobymac, technical devices, and lowfat granola. at bekah running.

meta

