what people who live alone do.

August 5, 2008 § 2 Comments

I like food blogs as much as, or actually probably a little more, than the next person.  And the ones I like the very best are the ones with the beautiful, glossy, make-your-mouth-water pictures.

But I’ve started wondering if all these bloggers are largely (no pun intended) single.  Why?  Because I cooked something really great the other day.  And there was no one to look at it.  No one to share it with.  So I grabbed my camera and took some pictures. 

fresh tomatoes and eggplant from the garden.

fresh tomatoes and eggplant from the garden.

It was embarrassing.  Have you ever stood in your kitchen all alone and pointed your camera at a plate of food?  It feels…odd.  To say the least. 

Other things people who live alone do include:

  • swimming by themselves for five minutes, then getting out.
  • turning in at 9:08 on weeknights.  on weekends, they stay up til at least 10:00.
  • refusing to buy grocery items that don’t come in single servings.
  • going to the office early, staying late, and reading business books at Borders on the weekends.
  • keeping all their mail, even though, after a week of not checking it, it still only amounts to a coupon from Bed, Bath, and Beyond, a coupon for Chik-Fil-A, and a coupon for Sports Authority.
  • having long internal dialogues about how glad they are they’re single so they don’t have to meditate on how much they wish they weren’t.

 

In other news, I learned to use a 15,000 dollar t-shirt printer today.  If anyone would like a t-shirt, I now have to make a t-shirt a day until we hire someone to run the project for which we bought the printer.  I have Men’s Large V-necks, if you’re interested.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to what people who live alone do.

  • Chrissy says:

    Don’t be embarrassed, you can show people like me who thinks it looks marvelous and would love to taste it!! Mmm Tomatoes my fav!!
    I”m interested in the T-Shirt but i live in Canada…I’m not a man but I could wear a mans shirt!
    Something I love that you might be interested in is a website called SingleSisterHood.com – this is where I spend my single nights learning about things to do with dating again…
    I just logged in for free and I’ve actually had a lot of fun here.
    My favorite thing to do on the website is watch the videos and read the Frog Tales. The Frog Tales are the best. They are so good I think Morgan is coming out with a book about them – Which should be very interesting… I’m even thinking of submitting one!!

  • sarahlynton says:

    this is hysterical.
    this is actually a post about single people who have just recently moved.
    because after single people are established, they make friends.
    when they have friends, they suddenly revert to college-mindset of not needing as much sleep.
    and they stay up until the wee hours of the morning, not only on the weekends, but also on the weeknights.
    then you get married.
    and you start going to bed early.
    and the excitement of making a delicious, pretty meal is: there’s someone else to take the photo for you.
    and then you eat it together (the spouse may or may not realize how much effort went into preparing this creatively beautiful meal as they eat it with the speed of a ravenous labrador).
    change is on the wind.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading what people who live alone do. at bekah running.

meta

